“Yes you can!” £1m striker Dyer tells students

Some of Thorne and Moorends’ most promising young people were honoured at a special celebration at Trinity on 2 July.

Outstanding Student of the Year Jay Green

The academy’s annual Prizegiving ceremony showcased highlights from the past 12 months, including performances from the musical Beauty and the Beast; a Greatest Showman dance spectacular; house competition events; and some of the year’s sporting triumphs and celebrations.

This year’s special guest was former English professional footballer Bruce Dyer, famed for becoming the country’s first £1-million-teenager when he transferred from Watford to Crystal Palace in 1994.

He shared with the Trinity students the story of his rise from a troubled youth to a talented striker, and encouraged them to strive to make the right choices and to achieve their ambitions, no matter how impossible they might seem.

Former English professional footballer Bruce Dyer was the guest speaker at this year’s Prizegiving ceremony

“I was that kid at school that teachers told others to stay away from,” Dyer said, “but people can grow and achieve, and if this talk inspires just one person to do that then, for me, it’s mission accomplished.”

He spoke powerfully of his life-changing encounter with Jesus Christ, and the forgiveness, peace and purpose that Christ has brought into his life. “God created every single human with the ability to achieve and I believe that,” he continued.

“I want to really encourage young people: you can change. You can achieve your dreams. You can grow up.”

Dyer went on to talk about the importance of making the right choices at a young age. “Lots of people have a gift, but are they willing to choose to achieve and to use that gift for good?” he asked.

“You have some tremendous teachers who are willing to teach, support and encourage you. Understand the power of sound wisdom and advice that you only get with age, and use their support – if you do that, you can achieve anything.”

The ceremony concluded with the much-anticipated announcement of the winners of the 2018-2019 House Cup. After eight consecutive years of holding the coveted top spot, Shepherds were finally ousted by Poets house, much to the delight of house captains Reid Pugh and Jessica Elsey who rushed to the stage to collect their trophy.

Poets house captains Reid Pugh and Jessica Elsey receiving this year’s House Cup

Speaking after the event, Trinity’s executive principal Jonathan Winch said: “It was wonderful to shake the hand of so many young people and to honour  the sheer excellence of their achievements.

“This year was extra-special because more than one of our prize-winners had overcome real adversity. Bruce Dyer’s powerful story drove home that we don’t need to let our past determine our future.”

The main award winners were:

  • Outstanding Student of the Year: Jay Green
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Catriona McKenzie-Purdham
  • Sportsman of the Year: Harry Graves
  • The Academy Drama Bowl: Sophie Christie, Ruvarashe Fungwe, Sommer Oliver, Oliver Page, Eren Strider
  • The Chairman’s Award for Musician of the Year: Ruth Spowart-Manning
  • Alumni Award – Contribution to the Academy and Local Community: Oliver Watkins
  • Megan Hennessey Prize for Art: Emma Venables
  • The TGS Reunion Group Award – Demonstration of the Core Values: Jasmine Wood
  • Student Courage Award: Nikola Symolon
  • House Cup Winners: Poets House

Academic Awards

  Excellence Endeavour Improvement
Year 7 Lexi Gray Lilly Asquith Szymon Barczynski
Year 7 Lois Hamilton-Plumb Evie Benson Kate Poland
Year 7 Winnie Chen Sasha Broughton Nathan Bailey
Year 8 Hugh Hamilton-Plumb Alexia Suptirelu Daniel Green
Year 8 Jasmin Nassau Finlay Ridgway Worth Alexia Costin
Year 8 Freya Barrass Alice Sanderson Logan Hodges
Year 9 Jeremy Pike Sara Feri Daniel Green
Year 9 Billy Astill Jessica Daines Jay Newell
Year 9 Blake Harhoff Maja Swedziol Kian Lancaster
Year 10 Jacob Page Kate Wheatley Matthew Peace
Year 10 Ethan Stringer Dominic O’Neill Ryan Adams
Year 10 Alexander Williamson Kai Holloway Fianais Davies


Citizenship Awards

Year 7 – Lily Sinclair-Witton

Year 8 – Macie Wilson           

Year 9 – Emilie Garcia

Year 10 – Hannah Sanderson


Most Promising Students

The most promising creative artist: Talia Sweed

The most promising entrepreneur: Jessica Elsey

The most promising food technologist: Keevé Sprung

The most promising geographer: Maja Swedziol

The most promising historian: Jacob Page

The most promising linguist: Leah Gray

The most promising mathematician: Olivia Jenkins

The most promising scientist: Anton-Florin Munteanu

The most promising sportsperson: Amy Wilcox

The most promising technologist: Evie-Mae Wildgoose

The most promising thinker: Jake Heppinstall

The most promising writer: Kate Wheatley


Sports Awards

  Victrix Ludorum Victor Ludorum
Year 7 Lucy Evans Jos Linley
Year 8 Phoebe Taylor Brandan Gurd
Year 9 Caitlyn Krebs Shaun Worgan
Year 10 Amy Wilcox Harry Peet


House Awards

KING of the Year: Olivia May            

POET of the Year: Winnie Chen

SHEPHERD of the Year: Lucy Evans


The King’s Academy Short Story Award

Marshall Mount